Gender Matters II

Aren’t my sisters gorgeous?! I love this picture of them together! Recently I’ve been studying how to glorify God as a woman. Gender Matters 1 was about how your relationship status shouldn’t affect your self-worth. God can use singles to spread his message in ways that aren’t possible when you’re married. Gender Matters II will be about submission.

The idea of submission bothers me because I would be submitting to someone who is not perfect. Ephesians 5 paints a picture of the ideal relationship:
Ephesians 5:24-26 “Now as the church submits to Christ, so also wives should submit in everything to their husbands. Husbands, love your wives, as Christ loved the church and gave himself up for her, having cleansed her by the washing of water with the word.”
Ephesians 5:28-29 “In the same way husbands should love their wives as their own bodies. He who loves his wife loves himself. For no one ever hated his own flesh, but nourishes and cherishes it, just as Christ does the church”

My grandmother is in a Bible study that discusses the socially acceptable sins Christians commit. They recently discussed pride. It was mentioned that single women or older, independent women, might struggle with pride more because women in these situations take on more responsibilities and are less likely to rely on anyone besides themselves. This might inadvertently create a barrier to realizing their need for God and humbly asking for His forgiveness. I definitely have a problem with this because I am too proud of my independence and personal success. Being submissive is often seen in a negative light. Everyone wants to be the leader, but the followers, aka the people who submit, often dictate the success or failure of a team, which is how a marriage is designed to work.

Men are commanded to take care of their women with as much care as they would their own body. It is reasonable to conclude that the same goes for the mind. A man should consult his wife on decisions, respect her input, and work towards a compromise when disagreements arise. If the man loves his wife like he loves himself, he will not force her to submit. My “ideal relationship” would be a partnership where we work together towards achieving the goals we set for ourselves. Because of sin, submission to husbands and loving your wives does not come easily! Compromising is definitely not the answer that I wanted to hear because it’s extremely difficult and no one gets exactly what they want in the end. So this week has been humbling because I know that I need to work on compromising, and accepting that I’m not always right. These are good to practice, no matter what your gender or relationship status!

